‘Thai sensation’ Annanarukarn crowned LPGA Tour’s new Match Queen

Thailand’s Pajari Annanarukarn is the new Match Queen of the United States Women’s Professional Golf (LPGA) Tour. Japan’s Ayaka Furue finished runner-up for the second straight year.

The final round of the LPGA Tour’s Bank of Hope Match Play at Shadow Creek (Par 72) in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA, on Monday (July 29). Ananarukan became the LPGA Tour’s newest Match Queen when she rallied from a three-shot deficit on the 17th hole to win the match over Furue. It was her second career LPGA Tour victory.

Born in 1999, Anannarukarn has one LPGA Tour win, a victory at the 2021 ISPS Handa World Invitational, and is one of three Thai players to make waves on the U.S. stage in recent years, along with classmate Patti Tabatanakit and junior Ataya Thittigun.

Lynn Grant (left) and Pajari Annanarukarn in their semifinal match.

Ananarukarn tied Karis Davidson (AUS) 2-1 in the group stage before advancing via overtime, and went on to defeat Cheyenne Knight (USA) in the round of 16 and Carlota Zimada (SPA) in the quarterfinals. Earlier in the day, she faced Lynn Grant (SWE) for a spot in the final, using precise iron shots and putts to defeat Grant by three shots with one hole remaining.

Facing a formidable opponent, Ananarukkan dropped the first two holes of the match but quickly equalized at the third before saving par at the fifth to take the lead.

A bogey on the sixth allowed him to tie the match again, but he took the next seven holes and held a one-stroke lead until the 11th. After dropping a shot but gaining two, Ananarukan birdied the 17th to close the gap to three.메이저사이트

Ayaka Furue.

Furue won all six of her matches before the semifinals to avenge her loss to Ji-hee Ji in the final of last year’s tournament, but this year she was held back by Annanarukan, meaning her match queen title will have to wait. However, she posted her best performance of the season in this tournament, raising expectations for the rest of the season.

Meanwhile, eight South Korean players competed in the tournament, including last year’s champion Ji Ji-hee, but none of them made it to the round of 16 and all were eliminated in the group stage.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *