Shin Jin-seo ends… Korea Nongshim Cup 3 consecutive wins

  • February 25, 2023

Shin Jin-seo (23), 9th Dan, finished again. Following the year before last and last year, he took on the role of the ‘terminator’ three times in a row. On the 24th, Shin Jin-seo, the final 14th official in the 24th Nongshim Cup World Baduk Championship, which took place online in Korea and China, took the bag to China’s Gu Zi-hao (25) and discontinued it after 200 moves.

It was a one-sided content on a different level. While 200 Go stones were placed in black and white, Baek won easily at the end of the lead from start to finish without falling behind even once in the AI ​​odds rate. After building a strong background in the lower right corner in the paving stone, he accumulated points in the fierce close battle that started in the upper left corner. Black’s AI win rate, which hovered around 30%, fell below 20% after exceeding 80 moves. After that, it was just a process of appreciating the finishing skills of the bag.

“I was able to win because the senior drivers did well in front of me. I am more than happy to win because we all worked together. At the last minute, I thought I would win without going out this year… In a one-on-one situation, I was confident and went on without much pressure.” This is Shin Jin-seo’s impression of winning the national championship.

Gu Zi-hao, the 6th ranked Chinese player who was aiming for a counter-battery against Park Jeong-hwan and Byeon Sang-il, no longer worked. The relative record between the two knights widened to 6 wins and 4 losses as Shin Jin-seo recently added 3 wins in a row.

Korea won its 15th championship, including the latest 3 consecutive losses, in this tournament, which is a team match between Korea, China and Japan. China and Japan have won only 8 times and 1 time, respectively. If you calculate only this year’s record, Korea recorded 7 wins and 4 losses, China 6 wins and 5 losses, and Japan 1 win and 5 losses, respectively. In Korea, Shin Min-jun (0 wins) – Kang Dong-yoon (4 wins) – Park Jung-hwan (2 wins) – Byeon Sang-il (0 wins) – Shin Jin-seo (1 win) sortie in the order.

Shin Jin-seo is approaching the record of Lee Chang-ho, 9th Dan, who was called the ‘guardian of Nongshim-bae’. New 9th Dan went out as runner 4 in the 22nd inning and won 5 consecutive victories, and in the 23rd inning as the final runner, he won 4 consecutive victories. With this one win, they are on a 10-game winning streak. This ranks second in history, following 14 consecutive victories achieved by Lee Chang-ho, 9th Dan, in the 1st to 6th tournaments in the early 2000s.

In a winning streak, what is more important than multiple wins is the ability to decide the championship. It is a so-called closer, and Lee Chang-ho, who has won 1st place in this category a total of 8 times, is the unrivaled 1st place. Next is Shin Jin-seo’s 3rd episode (22nd, 23rd, 24th) and Ke Jie’s 2nd episode. 10 people including Lee Sedol, Park Jeong-hwan, Choi Chul-han, Kim Ji-seok, Yoda, Chang-hao, and Swe played the role of closers once.

Shin Jin-seo has maintained the No. 1 ranking in Korea for 38 consecutive months. Everyone admits that if there is an official organization, it is the ability to rise to the top of the world. The number of domestic and international titles is currently 7. If you compare it to the moon floating in the middle of the night sky, it is a desirable full moon. 먹튀검증

However, even in such Shin Jin-seo, there was a time when he was anxious to win his first victory in the early days of Nongshim Cup. In the 19th tournament, he went out as the 3rd runner and lost to Tang Yi Fei, and in the 21st, he took on the 4th runner and lost to Yang Dingxin, so he had to taste the continuous “single knife life”. Now, his Nongshim Cup career record is 10 wins and 2 losses in 5 appearances.

Nongshim Cup’s 3rd consecutive loss is the highest record since China’s 4th consecutive loss (15-18). The record for the most consecutive losses in history is held by Korea, which achieved 6 consecutive losses by monopolizing from the 1st to the 6th inning. At the awards ceremony held after the match, the Korean national team won 500 million won in team prize money. According to the rules of the competition, no penny was returned to the 2nd and 3rd place teams.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *